Some of What I’ve Been Doing

So, as mentioned, I’ve been working on a few projects. While some are writing related, others are more hobby-like. Case-in-point: I’ve been painting the figures for a boardgame called Shadows of Brimstone. Shadows is a miniatures-based, co-op boardgame with a heavy RPG feel. I’ve managed to get a few plays in so far, and I’ve enjoyed it. That said, the process of painting everything is on-going, and will likely go-on all summer.

Here’s some of what I’ve done:

First, two of the heroes:

My favorite is the Preacher. I’ve tried a couple of different versions of the Preacher class, and each version works better or worse depending on the number of players.

Next-up is the class that my wife had sampled: the Bandito. The Bandido that she played was a reckless, carefree sort of character that loved using dynamite to solve his problems.

Next, a monster: The Tentacle! There were 12 tentacles to paint altogether, so I managed to plow through them by working like an assembly line. The tentacles are nasty monsters that can really wreck your characters if you aren’t careful. What’s worse, they really can hamper your movement and add a bit of challenge to any room they appear in.

Then there are the Night Terrors. I haven’t fought one yet, but they look rough and tough. They also look like evil Cookie Monsters.

Lastly, there’s the big guy: The Harbinger. A friend and I took this guy on during our game on International Tabletop Day and were hammered like yesterday’s nails. The Harbinger is tough, and comes with a suite of abilities that make it super-lethal.

While I’m still a mini-painting novice, I’m pretty happy with how these guys came out. While some of the models lack the level of detail I was expecting, I’m still having fun paining them. I’m looking forward to having a fully-painted set, and quiver in my boots when I just think about to 106 other minis that should be delivered next winter.

I hope you enjoyed taking a peek at my minis. I’ll post more as time goes by, and if there’s any interest.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in GeekLife and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

