30 Day D&D Challenge: Days 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9!

So, I fell behind on this pretty fast. I was hoping to build a buffer of a few days, but time got away from me whilst i was painting minis and working on a few stories. And so: Here’s the catch-up post 🙂

Day 5: Favorite Die or Dice:

020I love all my dice equally, though my Q-Workshop Runic dice in the brown-and-smokey-transparent are probably my very favorite, despite being difficult to read sometimes. Chessex’s Nebula dice are also pretty high on my list, since they are both funky AND legible.

Day 6: Favorite Deity:

004Hextor, the Lawful Evil deity of war. As a god devoted to power and control through strength, Hextor makes a really good adversary for a party of good guys. Since I tend to like combat heavy versions of D&D, having an evil god that focuses in combat is a handy device 🙂

Day 7: Favorite Edition

3.5. Long and short, it is complicated enough to be tactical, but malleable enough to allow PCs the power to do what they wish. Add in a plethora of Prestige classes, monsters, material, and the elaborations that Pathfinder has made, and I think you have the best version of D&D to this point. While I have not played 5th edition yet, i’ve heard good things. But nothing good enough to get me to buy into the new edition.

Day 8: Favorite PC of Your Own:

Since I don’t get to be a player often, I like most of my characters quite a bit when I do get to play them. My favorite right now would have to be Ferdinand. Ferdinand was a cleric/bard that descended from a minotaur family of middling power. The middle child, he never aspired to the greatness of his older siblings, nor did he harbor the jealousies of his younger siblings. He was content to be shiftless and lazy. This went to the point of him having to be forced out of the house and to join the clergy. He ended up following a jankey god of revelry and such, and basically found a way to be both religious and lazy at the same time.

While he had some natural martial prowess, Ferdinand was more content with buying orphans donuts than with fighting against tyranny. Still, tyranny needed to be fought, and he died in the process. Unfortunately, I wasn’t playing him in the session that he died, so I ended up having to tell the DM that Ferdinand would be too lazy to heed the call back to the land of the living. At one with his god, he’d have no reason to go back, and so that was the end of him.

Day 9: Favorite PC You’d like to Play:

A tough question. I’ll just answer it by saying that I like playing brutes with a heart of gold. They like taking care of their friends, and tend to see the world very narrowly – here and now, rather than then and later. The characters I like to play are ready to sacrifice themselves for the group, and are likely being manipulated by the group they are protecting.

I’m not sure what that says about me, but there you have it 🙂

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in GeekLife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Day D&D Challenge: Days 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9!

  1. Sarah says:

    You forgot the best part of Ferdinand. He’s a highland cow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

