30 Day D&D Challenge, Day 2: Favorite PC Race

In D&D, there is a hazy line between what races can be PCs (Player Characters) and NPCs (Non-Player Characters). In general, players can choose races that have little in the way of extraordinary power. Your typical starting player character should have a minimum deviance from the baseline in order to create a sense of balance amongst the players.

Typically, when you sit down to play D&D with a group, all the players expect to have a similar power level. In a D&D version of the Justice League, Superman just couldn’t be on the team: he’s just too powerful and the players would begin to resent the overwhelming ease with which he could do things.

Long and short, Kryptonians would not make a good player race unless all the other players were starting at higher levels.

Okay, enough of that. On to the meat of the matter: my favorite character race.

Dwarves!

001But why? Well, the answer is simple enough: they are sturdy, well-rounded fighters that start with both bonuses to Wisdom and Constitution. In short, they are tough enough to withstand getting into a fight, but they are wise enough to not get into one that they can’t win.

Dwarves are long-lived, but not quite so long lived as Elves. Dwarves are master craftspeople, live in the mountains, and generally are into their traditions. Depending on the version of D&D you are playing, Dwarven women may or may not have naturally occurring full beards.  I tend to portray female Dwarves as beardless, but having a similar regard to their hair as the males have towards their beards.

One of my favorite characters that I ever played was a Dwarf. My DM at the time allowed me to go a bit crazy, so I started to build a whole host of Dwarven holidays and traditions that my character would enjoy. I pulled a lot of these from Norse mythology and some from the ether. In the end, I had page upon page of culture set and ready if it ever needed to be.

I named the character Talmud, after the Jewish holy book. I thought that it was fitting, as Tolkien had based his vision of Dwarves on his perception of Jewish people, and because Talmud’s purpose as a character was to learn about himself and his relationship to his god and the universe.

He longed to be a cleric, but he could not channel the power of his god. He needed to prove himself, both as a warrior and as a person. As he adventured, hid god slowly started giving him power. Each time Talmud stood for what was right, each time he fought to protect his friends, each time he learned something new, he became closer to his god, and closer to being able to use his god’s power as a tool.

I was sad when I had to leave that particular game, as Talmud’s arc had not completed. He had become a cleric, but he had also discovered that his calling was to help others achieve greatness — unfortunately, since I could not continue playing, he could not fulfill his destiny.

C’est la vie, I suppose.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in GeekLife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day D&D Challenge, Day 2: Favorite PC Race

  1. Sarah says:

    Will you talk about Ferdinand at some point or at least draw him? He’s my favourite character that you got to play even though I was not part of the game.

Leave a Reply

