Panda Invasion

I don’t usually shop at Trader Joe’s. The nearest one is not terribly far away, but it is enough distance to dissuade me from going unless my wife and/or I are looking for something particular. In the case of our most recent trip, she was looking for some special goodies to send a friend, so I took it as an opportunity to spoil myself with a reasonably priced Thai Green Curry simmer sauce.

If you have been following my bento posts, you might have surmised that I like foods that are fairly fast to put together, but also quite tasty. As such, I have an abnormal fondness for simmer sauces – brown your meat and cook up your veg, plop in the sauce, let it heat through, and flavor heaven, or something close-ish to it, awaits.

004  I put the curry together with chicken, green peppers, an onion, and a zucchini. I tossed the zucchini in right at the end, as I wanted it to heat through and be cooked, but not to turn into a mush. I think that I’d add more spices to amp the curry up a bit, but overall, it wasn’t bad for about a half an hour of cooking. An ample serving of Basmati rice rounds out the box that was destined for the microwave.

My cold box was bristling with all sorts of little yummy things. Campari tomatoes, blueberries, raspberries, watermelon, homemade pickles, and a panda full of Hello Panda chocolate filled biscuits.

I have been curious about the Hello Panda snacks for a while, and since I do enjoy Pocky, decided I’d give them a try. I’m so glad that I did. Not only are they super-cute, with their panda-doing-sports motifs, but they are tasty and travel quite well – they taste particularly good chilled in the fridge. Consider me a fan.

That’s all I have for this week’s lunch. I hope you enjoyed, and remember to eat happily!

 

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Bento, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Panda Invasion

  1. dosirakbento says:

    Your bento looks great, the hot and cold part!
    Will look out for those Hello Panda snacks, I have the same cute panda container but don’t use it enough.

  2. Missie says:

    om nom nom nom!!!

Leave a Reply

