Eating Outside the Box

I don’t only eat bento. Once in a while, I’ll actually eat out of actual ceramic bowls.

002Pictured above is a delightful watermelon, feta, and tomato salad that my wife had made for dinner. Ever since I have been taking bento lunches to work, my breakfast has been a fairly large meal, typically whatever my wife made the night before for dinner. At work, I eat my bento, and when I get home late at night, I have a bowl of cereal or just a snack.

Since the watermelon salad is fairly light (and quite refreshing on a humid day), I decided to accompany it with some thinly sliced grilled chicken with a garnish of green onions and a few generous drops of garlic chili hot sauce.

Refreshingly light, but fairly balanced meals like this usually make me feel pretty good. Skimping on dairy is probably not a terrible idea, and going light on carbs can definitely help the waistline. While I’ll never probably cut carbs out of my diet completely, I do try to go a bit lighter on them.

Still, I will always love a big pile of rice with my curry, and a heaping bowl of pasta and tomato sauce will always call my name. However, it is important to remember that eating a little healthier doesn’t mean eating less happily.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

