1,000 Word Challenge 2014

Hey folks!

I just finished the first draft of my new novella! Am I Magical? is the story of Bill, a shut-in that has given up on the world who finds a plastic scepter in a box full of toys. When he presses a button on the scepter, he becomes Magical Mina – a super heroine with great strength, agility, and phenomenal powers. However, Bill finds out that being a heroine isn’t as straightforward as he believed…

Since the first draft is done, I figured I’d take a brief break from playing with Magical Mina and do my sometimes-annualish 1,000 Word Challenge.

For the uninitiated, the 1,000 Word Challenge is an interactive event where you, the reader, sends me a link to an image by August 2nd (I’m lenient if you are late, no worries). I will look at the images, and select four of my favorites as cues for a short story. My aim is to deliver a story inspired by the image that is 1,000 words long. A few examples are:

Meanwhile, In the Back of Fung’s Fine Cantonese Restaurant

Freiheit Brücke (Freedom Bridge)

Raising the Kraken (Or “Pardon Me, but Your Kraken is Showing”)

So, if you please, comment below with a few images and we’ll see what happens!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in One Thousand Word Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

