Golly Gee it’s a Gołąbki!

My wife does the majority of the cooking. On the rare occasion that we do not go out to eat on during the weekend, I will cook. When I cook, I tend to cook more complicated things. I don’t want to make it seem like I’m a magic chef or anything, but I do like trying different recipes and don’t normally shy away from a many-stepped dish.

However, since my wife cooks much more than I do, she doesn’t want to go through the trouble of making something that is very labor-intensive. That is why, when we want golumpkis, we get them from a local Polish deli/smokehouse/almost-anything-Polish-you-could-want-establishment.

Golumpkis, which are essentially meat with rice filler rolled in a cabbage leaf, are quite hearty, and the local Polish establishment does a great job with them. Served with a creamy tomato-based sauce, they are a filling lunch. Accompanied by chips, strawberry yogurt, and whole strawberries, this bento filled me up so much that I didn’t want to eat anything when I got home.

010Oh, and who is that visiting the bento? Is it a couple of cute kittens? Why yes it is!

011I cannot believe how much these little plastic food picks cheered me up. I was having a terrible day, and when I saw these kittens roaming and playing in my strawberries, it immediately improved my day. The power of a cute cat cannot be underestimated.

Just a brief word on the book I am reading. Beasts of Burden: Animal Rites is probably the saddest, most rewarding graphic novel I have read in quite some time. It involves animals that get into supernatural adventures. Illustrated superbly by Jill Thompson (no known relation), it manages to tell a dark story in a very emotional way – there is not a single event in this book that won’t move an animal lover.

I give it two paws up.

So, that’s all for this week. Until next time, eat happily!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Bento, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

