The All-American Bento

With Independence Day in the air, I felt like it would be appropriate to have what I consider a very American Bento. I present to you: The All American Bento!

015This bento is very simple and straight forward, and probably the least healthy bento I have made thus far. It includes two microwavable cheeseburger sliders (being steamed hamburgers, for the uninitiated or unfamiliar with White Castle) over a bed of lettuce with grape tomatoes. The bottom box has potato chips (I had intended a Hostess apple fruit pie, but the grocery budget didn’t allow it), Red Velvet cake yogurt, a piggy filled with mustard for the sliders, and a panda filled with dressing for the greens below it and the top box.

As the week wore on, and the potato chip inventory of the pantry fell, I subbed in more greens. It made me feel better, too.

I try not to buy frozen food to microwave, but it was hard to justify spending the money to buy buns, meat, onions, and cheese just for a week’s worth of lunches. Then again, it would have been better for me, and I would have finally tried this recipe, which I’ve wanted to try for years. Maybe another week.

That’s all I have for today. Until next time, eat happily!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Bento, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

