Merdock and Noah S. Feratu

I’m starting work on another role-playing adventure, this time for Little Fears Nightmare Edition. I’m envisioning it as something between Monster Squad and The Gate, having both serious and lighthearted moments. Of course, I won’t go too far into detail, but I will say that the game will involve the classic monsters of American cinema.

I’ve taken some time to sketch out my vision of these monsters; I’ll probably include them amongst others in a coloring book idea that I’ve been kicking around.

First is Merdock. He is your typical Creature from the Black Lagoon, but I wanted to make him more physically impressive. I started with face designs:

My initial inspiration was from Savage Dragon, but I really wanted Merdock to have an over-sized chin, or some kind of pelican-like sack. The first iteration of him (top) came out really REALLY phallic-looking. The more I looked at him, the more he looked like a penis. The second (middle) looked physically weaker and somewhat meek, while the third (bottom) was really a nod in the direction of something more bestial.

Looking at those faces, I came up with this body:

I widened his face to give him a more aggressive and strong head, and gave him an exaggerated swimmer’s body with overly broad shoulders and a lean physique. Overall, I’m pleased with myself.

Next was Noah S. Feratu, the vampire of the group:

I toyed briefly with making him look a little like Barnabas Collins, but I really prefer my vampires to look like Nosferatu, so bald and batty was my decision. I also decided that he should dress like classic Dracula, and still have the cape and medallion in his bat form.

I’m not 100% happy with this design, but it is closer to what I want. I need to look at Bela as Dracula a bit before my next attempt and make sure that I get the clothes down a bit more…

I’m very excited to draw more of these classic monsters, and look forward to tossing them into suburbia to wreak havoc.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Art, Drawings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merdock and Noah S. Feratu

  1. Sarah says:

    *claps* Yaaay!

Leave a Reply

