GM’s Day 2013

As long time and astute followers on my blog know, I enjoy role-playing games. While I love character driven games like Fiasco and Vampire: The Requiem, I also enjoy the occasional wade in and slaughter all the enemies games such as Dungeons and Dragons. My love of all these games stems from my love of fantasy and playing pretend. These games offer a brief respite from the world, and often inspire me as a writer.

When a game requires a referee or planning, there is a person who runs the game. That person is called the Game Master, Dungeon Master, Storyteller, Keeper, or any of a dozen other monikers. I tend to prefer Game Master, as it encompasses all games equally. Usually, when I’m playing a role-playing game, the role of Game Master belongs to me.

I will be the first to admit that it is my preferred role. I tend to have issues with control and can be hyper-critical at times. As such, when I play in a game, I often obsess about how I would do it differently. Often, this obsession leads to me enjoying a game less than I might if I were willing to let go.

Over the last few years, I have played under several good GMs. Each has their own style, and all of them allowed me to have fun at their games. While schedules have made it difficult to play, I still cherish the memories that I have, and those we occasionally make.

GM’s Day is an occasion that has arisen from message boards and forums from players that wish for an opportunity to formally recognize and celebrate their Game Masters. As such, I’ve made this drawing of the three characters I have played in the three games run by some of the best GMs I know.

From left to right, there is Ferdinand, Kenta, and Talmud. Playing these guys has given me much enjoyment – enjoyment I wouldn’t have had if it weren’t for the Game Masters in my life. I can only hope that the folks that play in the games I run are half as inspired and entertained as I am.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Weird Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

