Hanging Out with The Master

I will make no attempts at disguising the fact that one of my all time favorite movies is a terrible, Z-grade film called Manos: The Hands of Fate. I was first exposed to Manos via the program known as Mystery Science Theatre 3000 (aka MST3K). I loved MST3K as a youth, and my love for it has grown with me – there are still many episodes I have not seen, and most get better with frequent watching. Enter Manos, which can be seen on Youtube here, at least until someone takes it down.

The plot of Manos is simple – a married couple is on vacation with their daughter and dog. The family end up in a strange pocket dimension (my conjecture, since there is “No way out of here”) that is home to The Master, a not dead-but-sleeping priest of the god of primal darkness, Manos. Also in habitation is The Master’s servant, Torgo, who is a bit of a satyr and envious of The Master’s many wives. From there, the movie goes screaming downhill as the family gets embroiled with the strange cult, finding out about the terrible mysteries of Manos and his followers.

This sounds like a good movie, or at least a compelling one, doesn’t it? Well, it’s not good. However, I find it compelling and inspirational, and as you can tell from my description, I see something there that most other folks don’t notice behind the light leaks, stiff acting, terrible dubbing, choppy editing, and stilted, repetitive dialogue – there is a story that the director-writer-actor Hal Warren just couldn’t get out of his head and onto a screen.

Anyhow, while I would love to wax endlessly about Manos, I think I have provided a sufficient amount of back story to explain this piece of art I made. It is The Master and Torgo, hanging out after a long day of worshiping Manos.

And here is the same piece, colored in with Prismacolor markers on the marker paper I just bought today –

Clearly I need more practice on the marker paper. Additionally, I think I need to work larger and in a more painterly fashion. One thing I truly dislike about this is that the marker strokes on the scan versus the marker strokes on the original look quite different. I had the same issue with the picture of Hellboy I colored during last year’s 30 Day Drawing Challenge.

That said, I shall soldier on in my attempts to master this medium.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Art, Drawings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hanging Out with The Master

  1. Sarah says:

    The haunting, Torgo theme.

  2. I don’t know that i have ever worked with marker paper. Is it super slick?

Leave a Reply

