30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 13: A Super Villian

I was originally aiming for Ming the Merciless, but then I thought to myself, “Who is kind of like Ming, but more outrageous? Mentok the Mindtaker, of course!”

I should have plotted the letters first, then constructed the figure, but this all came together on the fly. I was just fiddling with poses and ended up with this before I knew what was happening. It was as though someone had taken my mind. MINDTAKER!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Art, Drawings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 13: A Super Villian

  1. Sarah says:

    We don’t ask, we take! ^_^

  2. ~m says:

    haha, nice!
    You should just continue him, under the text. Why shouldn’t the letters just pass right through him? MIND TAKING!!!

    I used to love all the original Hanna-B cartoons. Getting so few channels, I used to get up at the crack of dawn on Saturdays so I could watch a whole block of them when I was small.
    Mentok was much blander, like a Scooby-Doo villain with hypnosis powers; he’s WAY cooler in HB, Attorney at Law, lol.

    Btw, speaking of Mentok….why were cartoons from the late 60’s -late 80’s
    SO OBSESSED with mind control?
    I think it was the anxiety about the Cold War….

    • I remember getting up early on a Saturday morning to start my day off with Captain Bob drawing, which would segue into the Hanna Barbera Super Power Hour, which supposedly featured the Fantastic Four on occasion, which I think was a blatant lie because all I really remember are the Herculoids, The genie with his weird flying camel, and Moby Dick. I KNOW they had the Fantastic Four, because I remember my brother yelling at me about not waking him up to see the episode.

      So many terrible cartoons…

      I’ve been watching the newest incarnation of Scobby-Doo, called “Scooby-Doo: Mystery Incorporated” and it makes me wish that a cartoon as sophisticated as it was around when I was a wee tater tot. At least I can still enjoy it now.

      Sarah has slowly been acquiring Harvey Birdman, and I’m looking forward to watching them all over again.

      As far as mind control villains go, I’m thinking that it is one of the big archetypes for villains.

      “This guy’s super smart.” “What can he do?” “Build stuff?” “So, that’s Science Dude. We need something more brainy.” Together – “Mind Control!”

      However, I do like your theory about the Cold War…

      -H

Leave a Reply

