30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 3: A Monster (Evil)

Today is a day of joy and sadness: today, I start a new drawing pad.

It is slightly sad because the old one is one I have been carrying around for nearly a year. It has followed me though numerous trips to the laundromat and even went to Maine when Sarah and I went on vacation this past Spring. However, all good things must end, and I end the old pad of paper with a wedgie monster:

Yeah. That underwear’s gonna go over that kid’s head.

I drew this very quickly, and don’t mind some of the sloppiness because this was mostly just a fun idea that I wanted to toss out on paper. So, good bye old pad and hello new.

My new pad was a gift from my friends Katie and Ryan, and looks like it will take a while to fill. So far I like it a lot: the paper’s brightness is way up there and it erases cleanly. Its nice hard cover makes it pretty ideal for transport, however, it is 8 1/2 by 11 inches, rather than the 9 by 12 that I have been using – yet I seldom use the entire 9 by 12 surface, so it isn’t a bad thing at all, just different.

So let’s start this pad with an evil monster, shall we?

This monster is a terrifying thing. I had an image of a tentacular spectacular that used a human body in the same way an angler fish uses that little light-up doodah on its head to capture prey. The human body it is latched on to retains all memories it had in life, as well as those made while attached to the writhing tentacle mass. Separation from the mass means death for the human.

I was going to do some color – maybe light shading – but I think the straight-up line work looks crisp and clean. Well, mostly 🙂

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Art, Drawings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 3: A Monster (Evil)

  1. Sarah says:

    Creepy ass monster indeed!

Leave a Reply

