My Friends as Monsters, Entry 2

After posting yesterday’s “Friends as Monsters” I decided that I need to take my time a bit more. Last night, I rushed. Tonight, I took my time. It also helps that it is Friday night/Saturday morning, so I don’t really need to worry about being up too late.

I had inked this drawing after finishing the pencils and decided to scan it before I started to add weight to the lines. This was a good thing, since while I was adding weight to my lines, my pen started getting really flowy. I was worried that I would lose detail in the face because the lines were bleeding.

Anyhoo, seeing as things were going South fast, i figured I would pull out the brush pen and use it for some hatching practice. BIG mistake. The original is left in my sketch pad as a reminder of what not to do. I printed out the copy with the evenly weighted lines and used colored pencils to give it some life. I’m much happier with my colors here than my colors last night. I started much lighter, which gave me more room for gradients and some nice shading popped up.

I took a friend’s advice and used my hand to model the mermaid’s hand. I think the coffee cup holding hand came out well. As my wife said yesterday, “Practice, practice, practice.”

However, practice can become a bit discouraging when things aren’t working out the way you would like them to. Today was the first day in a while that I reflected on why I stopped drawing in the past (about 13 years ago). I had stopped because I wasn’t developing in the direction that I wanted to. There were artists around me that could draw remarkably well, and there I was struggling along. I was good at photography, not so good at drawing. I focused on the camera and left the pads and pencils behind.

Years later, I missed it. One of my close friends is a phenomenal illustrator and seeing his work inspired me to get back into it. Of course, there’s the voice of my low-self-esteem always comparing my work to his and making me cry in my Quaker brand Honey Graham Ohs. My good esteem fights back with “Your style is different and you have a lot of developing to do” and I do my best to listen it it instead of the other one.

Well, one more monster in the bag. six more to go. Seven if I decide to redo yesterday’s.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Friends as Monsters, Entry 2

  1. Sarah says:

    I love it, but I might be impartial on this one. ^_^

  2. Sarah says:

    Reblogged this on Sheepless in Rhode Island and commented:
    A few days ago Harry posted a status on Facebook which said this:
    “Read the following and reply quickly:
    You are a monster. What kind of monster are you?”
    Here’s what he did with my response of “mermaid”.

  3. Alice says:

    I’m a Rav friend of Sarah’s. Just wanted to say say I LOVE the pic, especially the cup, complete with cup cozy 🙂

Leave a Reply

