My Friends as Monsters, Entry 1

A few days ago I posted a status on Facebook which went like this:

“Read the following and reply quickly:
You are a monster. What kind of monster are you?”

Eight of my friends replied, and (probably) eight of them will be drawn as the monsters they said they are. This is to give myself some practice at creating different body types and faces, and also just because it is fun when you get people involved. First up:

I decided to use straight colored pencils to color this piece, and I am slightly dissatisfied. I think I need to practice with them in order to get exactly what I am looking for. I’m fairly satisfied with how the drawing came out, though I have some specific issues that I need to work on.

I really need to figure out what style is my style of hand. I went with something a bit over-sized here and I’m meh about it. I’ll keep experimenting. I need to do a better job on breasts. I had avoided drawing them for so long (out of shame; check back on last year’s 30 Day Drawing Challenge) that I have a hard time getting them right. What’s worse, my overall proportions are still kind of wacky: heads are still a bit big, the waist has improved, arms are less ape-like, and legs are improving.

Once I start getting these things down, I’m going to need to get more poses. Additionally, there will come a day when I will need to do backgrounds…

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Friends as Monsters, Entry 1

  1. Sarah says:

    I can tell who it is, so that is definitely something. 🙂 Practice, practice, practice. Hands, I think, are the hardest part of a person to draw. It’s better than I could ever do.

Leave a Reply

