30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 16: What You Ate

So, I might have bent the rules a little bit, as I drank this more than I ate it, but to be fair, I did eat some of the ice cream off of this Moxie Float:

I dub it a “Moxie Frivolous.”

For those that do not know, Moxie is a sip of history – it originates in 1884 and hasn’t changed much since its drugstore roots. Known for a very medicinal aftertaste, Moxie isn’t the favorite of many a first-time drinker that doesn’t know what to expect. On my first taste of Moxie, I didn’t care for it. On the second, I liked it more. As time passed, I have actually grown to like the drink and decided that it was time to enjoy it in my favorite, summery way to enjoy a soda: as a float.

I must say that three small scoops of vanilla and about a half a can of Moxie make for a good float in a reasonably sized tumbler. I introduced the rest of the can towards the end of my enjoyment of the Moxie Frivolous and stirred in the ice cream to get an idea of what it would taste like as more of a Boston Cooler-style float, and was pleased.

Thumbs-up for the Moxie Frivolous.

PS: I wanted to toss in the second picture I took of the Moxy Frivolous, as I liked it quite a bit, but felt that it came out a little on the blurry side. Which do you prefer?

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Photo Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 16: What You Ate

  1. Sarah says:

    First one, since that’s pretty much what I’ll be doing. πŸ™‚

  2. First one because it looks like he’s warning you! I didn’t know they still sold it. My mom used to tell me about it and its extreme caffeine.

    • He is there to ward off unwary souls πŸ™‚

      I don’t feel like it is extremely caffeinated – especially compared to the now less-available JOLT! Cola, whose slogan was “All the sugar and twice the caffeine.” However, I could certainly be wrong.

      Moxy can be hard to find, but it is worth searching for, even if you end up thinking it is disgusting πŸ™‚

      -H

  3. ~m says:

    Hmm.
    This must be how young Steve Irwin’s friends felt when he told them about his career choice:
    midway between pride at your courage and fear that you will die this way…

  4. Pingback: Day 16, 30 DPC 2012 « Sheepless in Rhode Island

  5. Nicki says:

    Ick! I don’t know, man….

    My vote is for photo numero dos!

Leave a Reply

