30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 6: Childhood memory

This is my Paddington bear:

Paddington has been with me through everything.

One of my first memories, something that sits in that strange “maybe I was four or five” area of my life, is of sitting in a field crying, holding onto my Paddington and pulling at the felt of his now long-gone parka. I don’t know what I was crying about, but Paddington was there to help me through it.

When I went through the phase of putting away all of my toys, I couldn’t bring myself to put away Paddington. He was too dear to me.

During the jean jacket fad, I made a jean jacket for Paddington with the leg of an old pair of jeans. Sure, it was more of a jean vest, but it got the job done.

Paddington survived the fire, and for that I am grateful. My mother-in-law cleaned him and stitched a couple of holes he had developed, and now he sits on my bureau next to the Paddington I bought in London and the small cat my friend Rose made for me.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Photo Challenge, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 6: Childhood memory

  1. Sarah says:

    I never knew of you crying in a field. Something to ask your parents some day, perhaps? I’m so happy that he survived the fire.

Leave a Reply

