Sketch-A-Week, Week 21

Yet another boring laundry day made exciting by SKETCH-A-WEEK!

After doing the laundry (which is when I did the pencils for this week’s drawing), Sarah and I went to her physical therapy appointment. On the way down, a young woman in a wheel chair spotted my sketch pad and asked why I had a notebook with me. I explained that I would draw in it while my wife was in physical therapy. The girl said “Nuh-uh” and her guardian explained that I was an artist or designer, and that I probably did drawings all the time.

Now that I think of it, I should have showed her my sketches, but I felt as though I might disappoint her if my work wasn’t impressive enough. Such is life.

I sat in the waiting room and inked the following:

The one and only Dr. Catastrocylsim, created by Pat Cullen for the role-playing game I’ve been running called Omega Force, which is loosely based in the universe of Savage Worlds’ Necessary Evil. Nick Prymak (who plays/created Cognito) has been working diligently on designs for the characters, as we want to shape the story we’re playing into a comic book. That said, I try to do my two bits visually by sketching them a bit and seeing if I do anything different.

Dr. C is pretty much the leader of Omega Force; he (along with Blaze) is the morality that transforms them from a group of kill crazy villains into a force for social betterment. He also died in a hail of laser fire way before I would have liked him too. However, in the world of comics, heroes seldom stay dead long.

In addition, I wanted to direct you, my dear reader, to my wife’s blog. There, you will find the anniversary card (4 years) I made for her. I’m pretty proud of it, as it showcases a lot of what I’ve been working on over the year. I would show off our third year anniversary card, but it involves a cartoon me in leather chaps, which might be a little embarrassing, or even inappropriate.

Enjoy!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

