Sketch-A-Week, Week 19

Sketch-A-Week rolls on with another rendition of Blaze and Cognito; this time Cognito is in the company of one of his Cognitons. I would say more, but I am short on time: I need to go to work in about ten minutes. So:

This is one of my first adventures in crosshatching. Neither great nor shabby, I need to explore this technique further. With some time off coming soon, I will be able to draw to my heart’s content.

With that, I must zoom away.

Enjoy!

Edit:

So, after having gone through Hell about 4 times with the La Plume water-based markers, I decided to buy a few alcohol-based markers from Prismacolor. MUCH BETTER. I only bought a couple of colors and will need to buy more if I want to continue coloring with them. My test for using them was this week’s sketch, so here is Cognito, Blaze and the Cogniton in color. Sort of. Because I need to buy some flesh tones.

Good times.

Edit Again:

Sorry to update this again, but after reading a pamphlet on using alcohol-based markers, it mentioned using colored pencils in order to get colors that you don’t have yet, and to enhance the colors you do have. And so I colored in the fleshy bits.

I swear that this is the last one. Hey: it almost serves as a tutorial. If only I included directions…

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch-A-Week, Week 19

  1. Sarah says:

    Such an unlikely pair. They bicker like an old married couple. 🙂

Leave a Reply

