Art Date 5-28-2012

A few months ago, Sarah and I had an art date which was centered around playing with watercolor pencils. It was a fun afternoon, and I had been meaning to have another. Since I have started trying to ink all my drawings, I purchased a nice set of Micron pens that included a brush tip pen. The moment I used it, I knew that Sarah would love it. So, the art date was made and art was created.

I have two pieces to show off. The first was my experiment with the brush tip pen, coupled with using those dang Le Plume markers that I just can’t use without making a mess of the work I’m trying to color. I think the key is to color first, and then ink over it with the marker, which is what I did with the flower. Additionally, smaller areas seem to be better for this particular tool. While I don’t HATE the results, I don’t love them either.

I was going to do the hair in black, but I didn’t want to waste the ink on something I wasn’t in love with. After scanning, I’ve found that I like it more, but still: not in love. No love for Kumiwanalei.

Sarah had been drawing herself eating noodles, so I decided to do my take. I have been starting to study some of R.Crumb’s cartooning and integrating elements of his style into mine. This is the first piece that I THINK you can see the influence. And yes, I know I’m not actually that fat.

Overall, I like having Art Dates. They help me get my head down and working, but without it feeling like work. To an extent, they capture the best feelings of an art class; I feel happy, enthusiastic, and productive. Not to mention, I feel closer to my Sarah.

I would like to make Art Dates a more regular thing, but I don’t want to over do it.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Art Date 5-28-2012

  1. Sarah says:

    LOL I didn’t know that was Kumiwanalei! *giggles* Awesome. ^_^

    Man, I love the one of you eating noodles so much!! I think it’s one of my favourites so far out of everything you’ve done.

    • harrylthompsonjr says:

      I thought that Kumiwanalei would be suitable, seeimg as I kept thinking of your bobbly hula girl of the same name.

      I am glad you like the noodles picture 🙂

      – H

  2. Pingback: Art Date « Sheepless in Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

