Sketch-A-Week, Week 18

18 weeks of drawings is a lot of weeks of drawings. Well, for me it is. Included above is Lawrence “Frigid” Aire (at the top), who is an upcoming antagonist for the super-villain role-playing game I’m running which Cognito (the bug eyed fellow at the bottom) is part of. I also included a natural scene that I doodled on a post-it while at work inspired by my recent viewing of Watership Down.

Lawrence was burned by the mutant Blaze, a Pyro-kineticist who he taunted at school. The burns were so severe that he missed years of traditional schooling. Set behind others of his age, Lawrence decided to go to a trade school where he learned about repairing air-conditioning units. Despite the constant pain of his burns, he made a fair life for himself, until Blaze made front page news.

Seeing the girl that wounded him sent Lawrence over the edge – his burns started to hurt him, almost as bad as when they first happened. He built a suit to sooth his burns, and to counter Blaze’s pyrotechnic prowess; all that is left was for the right moment to arrive…

Cognito is one of my favorite characters from the game. Played masterfully by Nick Prymak, he is a ball of egotism and energy just waiting to wreck havoc wherever he goes. In this past week’s session, he was amongst a group of villains that were sent to a parallel universe where they had to fight against the Avengers (from Marvel. You know, the folks in that giant blockbuster?). It was a wonderful, action-filled session composed of one fight that was just about five hours long (in real time).

Watership Down was one of those films I’ve always heard about but had never seen. I saw it sitting on the shelf at the library and decided I should take it out. I’m glad I did. The backgrounds are fabulous and the story is moving. I think that the voice acting is a little sub-par, but it is otherwise great. I recommend it, but caution that it is actually rather violent in parts.

I can easily imagine the horror in parents’ eyes when they took their kids to see a cute bunny movie and got an epic, bloody brawl between rabbits and a surreal scene about the Hell of dying inside a rabbit hole that is filling with gas and full of rabbits. “The runs were blocked with the bodies of the dead” is an eerie thing to hear an animated rabbit say.

Well, that is all for this week. Enjoy!

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch-A-Week, Week 18

  1. Sarah says:

    Bow down before the ever masterful Cognito!

    Oh man, Blaze is not going to be happy to see Larry the Bully.

Leave a Reply

