Sketch-A-Week, Week 11

So, this week my sketchbook was forgotten while on the way to do laundry. Faced with the choice of going home to get it versus just sitting there and musing, I decided to save some gas and travel on the imagination highway. Several dayus later, I pulled out my sketch pad and decided to do one of the lessons in the drawing book I picked up a few weeks ago.

I chose a woman standing in 3/4 view, and after completing their rendition of a swimsuit clad lady, I started another sketch. This time, I chose Lucretia, a vampire that Sarah created for a Vampire: The Requiem game I created which spanned thousands of years worth of game time. After muddling through Lucretia, I realized that her somewhat Roman appearance combined with her blacksmith forged leg brace wouldn’t be enough to get the character across, so I added her brother Ignatius (played by Nick) into the picture.

I feel like I did a fair job, but would probably do better if I had reference materials on hand for some of the elements. Additionally, I need to again remind myself to go light on the lines.

Important anatomy lesson that I learned today: the big toe is on the inside of the foot. I had forgotten about that and had Lucretia with two left feet for a while.

While I’ve been having fun with the sketching, I think that I need to work more diligently on it. While I’ve been happy with my slow improvement (I THINK I see improvement), I think that daily or every-other-day would be better than weekly. Of course, I’d still only post 1 a week, so if you don’t come here for amateurish art, you won’t be swamped with three or four sketches per week.

That said, I have to decide what haiku I should post for this week.

PS: I promise there will be fewer ape arms next week 😉

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch-A-Week, Week 11

  1. Sarah says:

    Creepy vampire twins for the win!

    I can see an improvement. I could never draw this well, and you know it. Good job Hun!

Leave a Reply

