Sketch-A-Week, Week 5

My sketch came early this week. Rather than wait until we were doing the laundry, I pulled out my pad and sketched away while my wife watched Castle on DVD. It isn’t that I don’t like Castle; on the contrary, I enjoy the show profusely. However, I was content to listen to the program while I kept my hands busy with pencil and paper.Featured in this week’s sketches are:

  • My continued effort to envision Inspector Prescott
  • A bald dude that looks like an angry Buddha
  • A girl that is 1/2 Ponyo and 1/2 Lenore
  • A creepy vampire
  • A fashion drawing of a pointy-headed dude with a big belly
  • And the creepy guy.

“But Harry,” you say, “that guy sitting on the floor sewing isn’t creepy.” Yes, yes he is.

When Sarah and I were at Panera Bread this week, the place was flooded with young ladies in their school uniforms. My initial thought was that Robert Crumb would not have been able to concentrate due to over-stimulation. My next thought was that I don’t miss Catholic school (despite the fact that we didn’t have to wear uniforms, except for gym class). My final (and most compelling?) thought was:

What if there was a terrible man that hunted and killed school girls for their skirts? He would sew them into a jacket so that he could keep them near. I figured he would have some strange fixation/reason for wanting to be ensconced in girls’ skirts. Something dark and pervy from his youth. Anyways, as I thought about this I happened to look around.

There was a guy sitting not far from me; he had a plaid jacket that matched the plaid of the girls’ uniform skirt. WAGH!

Anyways, the dude was an astonishingly creepy looking one. He instantly reminded me of Jethro Tull’s “Aqualung”. You know, “watches frilly panties run/Oh Aqualung.”

Anyways, so there’s a story seed in there which I will let germinate. I’m thinking that the Inspector will have his hands full after “Hole in the Head” is done.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketch-A-Week, Week 5

  1. Sarah says:

    I like this version of Inspector Prescott.

    ps – the link on my name does not work.

Leave a Reply

