Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies

My wife and I have decided that we want to bring dessert to the weekly Sunday dinner we have at my parents’ house. This week, I wanted to make something and I decided on these Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies from Naomi.

I’m happy with how the cookies taste, but feel as though I messed up somewhere. I believe the issue is that I don’t have a kitchen scale yet and I had to guesstimate the 8 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate. Further, the recipe didn’t note if I should use baking chocolate or if I should use chocolate chips. In retrospect, it seems to call for baking chocolate since it says “finely chopped”. Despite that minor guffaw, things came out less appealing looking but just as tasty.

Here’s my version of the recipe. I cut down on the amount of powdered sugar, since I wound up with far too much left over. Next time I try these, I will use baking chocolate and see what the difference is. Additionally, I think it is time to buy a new jar of baking powder.

Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies
Prep Time: 20 Minutes/overnight    Cook Time: 12 Minutes    Servings: 32 Cookies

Ingredients
1 ¾  cup plus 2 tablespoons spooned and leveled bleached all-purpose flour
1 ½  teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped
2 ¾  cups sugar, divide
¼  cup of canola oil
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and warm, not hot
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
2 large eggs
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 ½ teaspoons of peppermint extract
½ cup powdered sugar

Additional Information:
For best results let the cookie dough rest overnight.
The cookie dough can be prepared four days in advance. Once the cookies are baked they can be kept in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.
To keep your cookies chewy add a plain piece of bread to the container. The cookies will absorb the moisture from the bread and stay chewy. Replace the bread piece once it starts to resemble a crouton in texture.

Instructions

1. In a medium bowl, beat together well the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. Melt the chocolate in the microwave on 50 percent power for 1 minute, stir, and microwave for 15 seconds more and stir; set aside.

2. In a large bowl, beat together 2 1/2 cups of the sugar, the oil, butter and corn syrup with a hand mixer. Beat in the eggs, egg yolk, vanilla and peppermint extract. Then on low, beat in the melted chocolate. Add the flour mixture and beat in on low speed. Wrap the dough in plastic and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

3. Heat oven to 325 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment. Take out about one-quarter of the dough at a time to shape. Roll the dough into 3 inch balls. Pour the remaining 1/4 cup granulated sugar into one bowl and the confectioners’ sugar in another bowl. Roll each cookie dough ball lightly in granulated sugar first, then very heavily in confectioners’ sugar. (By rolling in plain sugar first, the confectioners’ sugar does not soak in so much and stays on the surface better).

4. Arrange cookies 2 inches apart on the foil. For crisp cookies, bake 12 to 14 minutes. For a chewier cookie, bake 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and allow sheet to cool for 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack. Bake only 1 sheet of cookies at a time.

 

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Peppermint Crinkle Cookies

  1. Sarah says:

    NOM NOM NOM

  2. ~m says:

    ooh, I bet these are delicious!
    I freaking love chocolate and mint together.

    Drop a spoonful of your baking powder into a cup of hot water.
    If it’s still active, it should bubble a lot!

Leave a Reply

