Sketch-A-Week: Week 1

This may be the year of doing things once-a-week. I tend to bring my sketchbook with me whenever my wife and I do the laundry. While we wait for the laundry to get clean, I like to take some time and draw a bit. As you may remember, I did a 30 Day Drawing Challenge last year (and am planning on doing another this year); doing the challenge reminded me of how much I used to like to draw.I wondered why I stopped drawing, and really considered an answer.

First is that I prefer writing to drawing overall.

Second is that I’m not very good at it. Yes, I’m close to competent, but I’m no where near as good as I’d like to be. That said, practice is my best recourse. While I’ll never be a Nick Prymak, I like to try. That said, let’s get on to today’s specimen (warning, naked Elder God ahead):

It is our good friend Cthulhu, awake and walking about as nature intended. Yes, he has squiddly diddlies; no, I couldn’t help myself. If you are of a sensitive nature, you can think of it either as a patch of seaweed, or perhaps a stylish merkin.

I also decided to play around with my cursive writing. I hadn’t written in straight-up cursive since eighth or ninth grade, then suddenly, I find myself writing in cursive once in a while. My handwriting has improved greatly from what it was, but I think it still looks kind of childish.Since cursive has fallen into near-disuse, I like to think that in 30 years, it will be like some secret language that only old people can read and write in.

Heck, even now I think of it as secret writing.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Drawings, Sketch-A-Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketch-A-Week: Week 1

  1. Sarah says:

    Love the eyes. Eww squiddly junk! I can see an improvement in your cursive. Up with cursive!!

  2. Katie says:

    I like the cross-stitch-sampler-feel the cursive gives the sketch. 🙂 Always impressed by those who can draw things that look like humanoids.

Leave a Reply

