Lunch with Harry: Buffalo Pierogi

Ah, lunch. That delightful meal between early, early breakfast and late, late dinner. On Thursday, I decided to make some Buffalo Pierogi. I found the recipe in a book called Sober Celebrations and had first made it for a group of friends on a game night. By-the-by, game night for me translates to “We got together and pretended to fight dragons.”

Anyhoo, I intended to make these for a friend’s New Year’s Eve party, but my wife already made something and I started thinking we shouldn’t bring two dishes. That would be like showing off.

“Look, it’s the Thompsons and their TWO dishes. Let’s all be terribly impressed that they did so much when they didn’t have to. Show-offs.”

So, instead I decided to make them for myself and devour them while watching season five of Peep Show on Netflix. I like Mitchell and Webb, and I’d be a filthy liar if I said that David’s character Mark didn’t remind me of myself more than a bit. I had considered eating them while reading Katsuhiro Otomo’s Akira (pictured), but I didn’t want to get the pages all saucy.

So yeah, I should probably toss the recipe in here, eh?

Buffalo Pierogi with Chunky Blue Cheese Dip
From Sober Celebrations
Prep Time: 10 Minutes    Cook Time: 20 Minutes    Servings: 8

Ingredients
4 Tbs. hot sauce
2 Tbs. canola oil
2 tsp. chili powder
24 frozen pierogi

For the Dip:
2 parts blue cheese dressing
1 part sour cream
1 part crumbled blue cheese

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the hot sauce, oil, and chili powder. Add the pierogi and toss to coat. Place the pierogi onto the baking sheet in a single layer and bake until puffed and golden, about 20 minutes, turning them once after the first 10 minutes. Blot with paper towels, then serve on a platter along with the dip

3. For the dip, whisk together the ingredients. Chill, covered, in the fridge if not using immediately.

I made the recipe with only 12 frozen pierogi and found that the amount of sauce was ample for 12 rather than 24. When I had made it for 24 pierogi, I thought there wasn’t enough sauce. Of course, that’s all a matter of taste.

Additionally, I ate all of these by myself. It wasn’t the best decision of the day.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch with Harry: Buffalo Pierogi

  1. Sounds really good, pierogi could be a staple food for me!!! Wondering if there is one flavour of pierogi that is better than the others, potato and cheddar, potato, onion and bacon, potato? This may in fact be my supper for tonight along with some oh lets say hot Italian sausage.

    Thanks for sharing
    Bill

    • harrylthompsonjr says:

      I have tried it with potato-cheddar with favorable results. I have some potato-onion in queue. Sausage is a very good idea for an accompaniment.

      -H

Leave a Reply

