30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 27: Someone You Love

As I have said before, and it bears mentioning again, I am an extremely lucky person in that I am surrounded by wonderful people that love and support me. I really don’t think I could get through all of my days without my support system of sounding boards, kind shoulders, and co-conspirators. Remembering that love comes in all shades and shapes, I am a fellow that is literally surrounded by love.

However, I had to choose just one person. My initial impulse was my wife, for who do I love more than the lady I’ll be with until the end of all things? Yet, as she’s been in 3 drawings already, I decided to try my hand at someone else.

I bet you she doesn’t even know that this is her. I chose to portray her as a Druid from Dungeons and Dragons, as 1) we both enjoy the occasional D&D and 2) it is the class I think suits her the most. It requires a good bit of wisdom and a pretty empathetic personality. Sure, druids can be all “Nature is mean and nasty, get used to it,” but I usually see them as seeing nature as a force that is unfeeling, so their emotions become that much more important. In the face of existentialism, isn’t it natural to care more for each other?

Anyways, off topic. To get back on point, I also left another little clue about who this is by her familiar. That little froggy is an allusion to someone that is close to the subject.

So Rose, could you tell this is supposed to be you? 🙂

At times like these, I wish I was just a better artist, because this looked more awesome in my head. I think I captured a lot of good stuff here, but I just don’t feel like I did my subject proper justice. Then again, I felt the same way about the portrait I did of my friend Robyn earlier in the month. That said, I don’t think I did half bad either.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 27: Someone You Love

  1. Sarah says:

    Love! And the frog is PERFECT. ^_^

  2. Roz says:

    Aww 😀 I love this and I love you too! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

