30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 21: Something You Want

Unfortunately, I didn’t parcel enough time for drawing today. While it would have been appropriate to draw some sort of semblance of time, I opted for something else:

I want to be able to play the ukulele. I want to have the time to be able to learn it, I want the money to be able to afford a fairly good one, and I want to take it to parties and entertain my friends. I want to sing for crowds and for them to be in awe of my talent. I want people to be inspired by my awesomeness so that they too could say “If he’s this awesome, imagine how awesome I could be!”

However, there are too many other things I’d rather do with my time than practice the uke. Face it: learning an instrument is tough, tougher still if you don’t have a teacher and are too much of a skinflint to buy lessons. Further, why practice an instrument when I could be writing, drawing, taking pictures, scrap-booking, painting metal miniatures, or watching borderline unwatchable B-movies?

If it was something I could just pick-up and play, I’d be all over it. However, when I can’t even tune it without an electronic tuner, how the heck am I supposed to get around to actually playing it? I know: train my ear, work hard, reap rewards. BUT I have so many other things that I enjoy and am fairly good at that it feels like I’m becoming a dilettante that fiddles with a thousand different things without doing even one of them halfway as well as he could.

If time wasn’t an obstacle, I’d pluck my way through until I was strumming like Tiny Tim. However, with only so many waking hours, I feel it is better to do what I love.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 21: Something You Want

  1. ~m says:

    I don’t blame you.
    Secondary obstacle to impressing people:
    while we’d would be personally inspired by your awesome,
    I’m not sure the general public awards much hipness or prestige to the Ukelele right now.
    It’s mostly ignored by popular music,
    it’s size makes people think of it as a toy, and it’s associated with very laid-back appearing things. How few people really appreciate the skill required?

    You’d definitely have to cover Israel’s Over the Rainbow early on in a set
    to strike the right tone…
    “oh, that’s right…and that song is cool. Suddenly I’m impressed by this!”

  2. ~m says:

    Why don’t I ever see the typos until after I post?

    • harrylthompsonjr says:

      The typo monster lives under the bridge that all comments and correspondence must cross.

      ~H

      • ~m says:

        He bites and gauges my ankles every time!!
        I’m covered with scars, it’s really awful!

        Oh….no,wait. That’s not the typo monster,
        I’m thinking of Gabe. Nevermind =)

Leave a Reply

