30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 19: Something New

I had a hard time with this one, because I found myself bogged down in the idea of what is and is not new. If you look at it, every day is new, but there’s nothing really new about a new day. So, in order to escape the philosophical quandary of newness, I decided to go for one of the newest things I own.

When I was last at Borders, I picked up a Lego Minifigure. For those that don’t know, it is essentially a small plastic dude that you get in a little foily-plastic package. Each purchase is blind, so you don’t know what you’re buying. The first one I bought turned out to be a werewolf.

With a werewolf purchased, I happened to see a display of Lego Minifigures at Newbury Comics. Seeing as I was in a spending mood, I decided to pick one up. It turned out to be the boxer pictured in today’s illustration.

Now, to the more serious part of the post.

I was a greedy little kid. I had He-Men and G.I. Joes coming out the wazoo. However, like all greedy little kids, I wanted more, more, MORE!. I wanted Legos; I had some Duplo blocks (which I used to build time machines for my varied action figures), but I wanted the real, big-boy deal. But, like Play-Doh and the He-Man sliming playset, they were deemed as a toy I would never get.

The pieces are small and you’ll lose them.

Fast forward and I did get a small Lego thingy in a Happy Meal, but if memory serves it was just 3 blocks. Still, I remember playing with those blocks. Forward further in time, to just a few years ago, I played the Lego Star Wars games and fell in love with the cute minifigures. Soon came Lego Rock Band and the spell was complete.

I wanted these little plastic men. I, 32 years old, wanted some cute little toys. So, when I found one cheap enough, I picked it up. There was more than a little glee in that purchase. My inner child, already rather content, was made even happier.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 19: Something New

  1. ~m says:

    *imagines a B movie poster for “Thompson Needs Legos!”*
    hehehe… yes!

    btw—the he-man slime pit play set! Oh man, so incredibly bizarre.
    The concept/ commercials had a child-sized portion of power-control s&m torture, didn’t they? A torture device that stabbed the victim and then veeeery slowly dripped a suffocating and mind-controlling substance all over him? One of the strangest He-man toys, and that’s saying something, lol…
    late 70’s/early 80’s cartoons in general seemed abnormally preoccupied with mind control.
    Was it the Cold War that did it? What do you think?

    Don’t be too sad over missing it, Harry. One of my friends had it, and–at least, based on his–
    it wasn’t the kind of toy that lasted a long time. The slime smelled awful, could ruin anything that was porous or jointed (clothing, carpets, the figures getting slimed, etc.)
    and worst of all, it died easy. First of all, it was really hard to gather it all back up after use.
    It had a consistency that was much closer to mucus than your average toy slime, it didn’t want to cling together. (at least, not in summertime, when I got to play with the thing)
    Plus, it instantly and irrevocably absorbed any bit of dust, dirt or hair it touched (which made it clump up eventually) and alas, if you didn’t seal it well enough or just played with it too much, the whole shebang dehydrated into guck, stains and flakes.
    It was excitingly messy for the first few slimes, but very disappointing after that.
    We soon replaced the skankified slime with “quicksand” made of play-do.

    One set of toys I never played with, but that I imagine little Harry must have longed for…
    the Mattel Mad Scientist line. Do you remember these?

    http://www.millionaireplayboy.com/toys/dissectanalien.php

  2. Sarah says:

    Maybe you’ll get some in your stocking this year. That’s of course if the Krampus thinks you were good. 😉

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Photo Challenge, Day 7: Something New |

Leave a Reply

