30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 16: Inspiration

I find that many things inspire me. Whether it is a piece of art or an entry on Wikipedia, inspiration may come from the strangest of places. One thing I find the most inspiring is the B-Movie.

The B-Movie is proof that if someone cares enough, they will create a product that surpasses what it could have been. On the same note, they also show what happens when an artist decides to say “That’s good enough. Next scene, quickly.” The best B-movies have a certain unquantifiable quality that is hard to express. For example, there’s Manos: The Hands of Fate.

Manos is, by far, one of the worst films ever made. However, there’s something there that attracts people like me. Yes, it is fun to make fun of it, but at the same time, when I watch it, I actually enjoy it. Maybe I’m a cinematic masochist, or maybe I’m just seeing something that isn’t there. I mean, it’s the story of a happy family that comes across cult of brainwashed women that are all married to an immortal priest (The Master) dedicated to a strange, unknown god called “Manos”; how can that not be worth watching? It’s like glimpsing into the producer/writer/director’s mind and seeing his strange power fantasies come to life via the local acting talent.

I feel that Hal Warren (producer/writer/director) wanted, THIRSTED to do an exploitation film, but he just didn’t know how to go about it: the 10 minute wrestling match between all of the Master’s nightie-clad wives is proof of that. Then again, maybe that’s exactly what he wanted.

Well, I’m rambling. In order to get to the point, I must mention the Master’s servant, Torgo.

Yup. That’s Torgo. A satyr with a propensity for repeating himself, Torgo serves the Master, but becomes upset when the Master doesn’t allow him to have a wife. The Master punishes Torgo’s insolence by magically tearing off Torgo’s hand.

The fact that this movie got made and that everyone I know has (or will soon) seen it is an inspiration to me. It seems to suggest that if one tries hard enough, someone, somewhere, will love what you’ve done.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 16: Inspiration

  1. Sarah says:

    I take care of the place while the Master is away! 🙂

  2. ~m says:

    I’m not sure I could enjoy Manos without having first seen the MST3k version first, for several reasons. But that’s for another day…

    “The Master punishes Torgo’s insolence by magically tearing off Torgo’s hand.”

    hahaha!– “magically” tearing off a hand, in this movie, just means vaguely removing a hand with a lot of mysterious panache and the impression that everyone involved is high…it’s really the essence of what’s right/wrong with this movie.

    Because, especially in the mst3k version, where Torgo’s feet are not seen…
    we never actually get ANY evidence that anything remotely supernatural happens!
    A heavy cugdel, yards and yards of white fabric, a machete, four joints a day for Torgo,
    blanks in the gun, and a lot of dramamine in the Kool-aid.
    If the Manson family had a persuasively good health care package, different fashion sensibility, and a lot less ambition, it could look a lot like the Manos cult.

    Also– you’re so right.
    I can’t help but wonder if there were portions of his fantasies he held back as being
    “maybe a little too much”.

    • ~m says:

      shoot, sent it too soon!

      I mean, if Warren held stuff back, either from lack of budget or because he thought it would be too unpalatable or too dull for the audience, WHAT would that stuff be? Lol, I’d kinda like to see!

      Oh, Manos, you crazy, crazy film!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

