30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 11: Turning Point

I call shenanigans on “Turning Point” being in the first half of the challenge. I think that turning point should come near the end, as most turning points do. However, that is neither here nor there.

The turning point is where “the action starts and a solution is given.” I have chosen a strangely calm turning point: this is just before I met my friend Missie. She would be the person that would gently coax me out of my shell and get me to realize some of my potential. This is the last moment in my life that I was purely Harry Thompson, Jr., the aspiring physical therapist and part-time artist/writer.

Missie enabled me to see the possibilities that would make me into the (as my friend Janet calls me) Techno-Bohemian that I am today. She helped me to realize my self-worth, that I am not alone, and that possibilities exist for a life that isn’t necessarily “normal.” She would introduce me to a group of friends that were fun and engaging; she would also introduce me to the woman that would become my wife.

Now, years later, I realize that the moment before I met Missie, my life was on an entirely different course. She, along with many others, helped guide me to a life that I think is pretty gratifying.This moment is when the illusion that I MUST get a job that pays well started to sprout wings: it would eventually fly out the window.

Now, on to my critique of myself: I did not expect that the markers I used to color the picture would pick up the ink I used to ink said picture. It is unintended, but I think that it adds some interesting texture to the drawing. I decided to leave the sketch lines and give the whole thing a somewhat messy feel. It is suitable, as my spirit was in a pretty muddled and messy place when I was going to be a physical therapist instead of a professional make-r-up-er.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 11: Turning Point

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay for Missie!

  2. ~m says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
    *hug*

    speaking of the time just before we officially met, why were you and Lisa (possibly your Mom sometimes?) always walking the length of Park ave back then? Was it for leisurely exercise?
    Do you remember “meeting” me in the parking lot of the Credit Union?
    Though, that wasn’t really meeting, since I didn’t introduce myself.

  3. harrylthompsonjr says:

    It was for leisurely exercise; my mom was trying to lose weight by walking, and we would occasionally go by Cass ave. I do remember the occasion at the Credit Union parking lot. It seems like so very long ago…

Leave a Reply

