30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 6: Your favorite character from a book (not a movie)

This was an interesting challenge, as I discovered that there are several books that I love, but many of them have been made into movies. My wife said that I could simply illustrate the “book version” of a character rather than the movie version, but I felt that such an action would be the sort of vague grayness that I’d call breaking the rules. Not to say that I wasn’t tempted.

If I were to remove the bounds of the rules, my favorite character would be Alex from A Clockwork Orange. I enjoy him because the language he speaks and the foul world he inhabits. If you’ve read much of my work, you’ve come across some small iteration of Alex at one point or another. It is a book I’ve read over a dozen times, and every time I read it, I find it inspiring.

I had also considered: Alice (from Alice in Wonderland), Thomas Builds-the-Fire (from The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven), and Arthur (from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy). However, I decided to stay true to the challenge and choose a charater that hasn’t been featured in a film (unless you count a brief camera test). I’ve chosen August Rivers (from August and Minerva, Investigators of the Supernatural).

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 6: Your favorite character from a book (not a movie)

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay Auggie!

Leave a Reply

