30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 5: Your Best Friend

I am a very lucky guy. I have the good fortune to be surrounded by many, many friends, several of which are very encouraging and supportive. My friends are generous and kind, and I would gladly consider lots of them bona fide best friend material. While I would have gladly drawn everyone dear to me in one picture, I’m pretty sure that such an endeavor would take more than the hour or so I allow myself for these posts.

I decided that I would choose the one person who has stood beside me through pretty much all of my adult life. No matter what, she’s always there to listen and give good advice. We like to laugh wildly together, and I just get giddy as soon as I see her. She was my best woman when I was married to my other best friend. She’s Robyn, and I love her very much.

I was very hesitant about drawing Robyn, as I wanted to capture her without screwing up horribly. I used a picture of her in an outfit she recently purchased and discovered that zebra stripes are MUCH harder to draw than you think they are. So, one quick visit to photoshop later (to crop my drawing), we have what is presented above.

Now, lets talk about something. Breasts. I don’t draw them much. For one, most of my drawings are of dudes dressed in clothes I’d like to make for myself or of monsters. As such, breasts don’t enter into the picture often. Additionally, when I draw breasts, it is with a degree of embarrassment and shame. I feel like I’m doing something wrong.

Now, I have no issues with the human form, it’s just that I feel slightly skeevy when I draw breasts. I think it is part of my upbringing haunting me. I felt a similar shame when naked ladies were on the Troma movies that I’d watch with my mom and sister during summer vacations.

Needless to say, if I want to draw something besides dudes and monsters, I should get over myself and just do it.

That said, I keep looking at the drawing with that nagging thought: “You made the breasts too big! You’re a pervy-perv-perv!”

Well. That’s my rant for the day. I hope you enjoyed the confession: I actually think that talking about it is the first step to letting it go.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Day 5: Your Best Friend

  1. Sarah says:

    You did a good job for a subject you are not used to drawing. Also, that particular outfit does make ‘the ladies’ perky.

Leave a Reply

