Mill Project

**Takes in a long breath, releases a sigh**

I’ve been working on a big project. Well, big for me, at least. It is a novella and I’ve devoted most of my creative time either working on it or avoiding completing it. Long and short, with the first draft done, I feel like I’ve climbed a mountain, got into a hang-glider, and sailed off on the winds of freedom. Now, I have a chance to actually do several of the projects that have been slowly cluttering up my desktop and head.

The first project I’d like to share is a series of four photographs of Mills in Woonsocket. Our city used to be a pretty industrious place, but now, not so much. We’re about a quarter mile away from becoming a bedroom community, and as such, several of these buildings now stand empty or are being used as warehouses. Yes, we still have some textile companies and yes, some of these mills have become lofts. However, in my eyes, these buildings stand for something that was great. Almost like a budget Roman ruin.

Working in the mills wasn’t the best occupation, but this is less about the horror of children getting hands lopped off or other such sundry tragedies. This is just about looking at the tombstones of a city’s former glory. Shall we look?

What do y’all think?

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mill Project

  1. Sarah says:

    Good job Hun and welcome back!

  2. Justine says:

    I think you’ve captured a sence of nostalga in these.

    • harrylthompsonjr says:

      Thank you. As I look at them, I feel that there’s kind of this 70’s vibe to them. The cover to Led Zeppelin’s “Physical Graffiti” was somewhat of an inspiration, so that might explain that…

      ~H

Leave a Reply

