Music Thursday: Nights in White Satin, By The Moody Blues

Lyrics:
Nights in white satin, never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written, never meaning to send.
Beauty I’d always missed with these eyes before.
Just what the truth is, I can’t say anymore.

‘Cos I love you, yes I love you, oh how I love you.

Gazing at people, some hand in hand,
Just what I’m going through they can’t understand.
Some try to tell me, thoughts they cannot defend,
Just what you want to be, you will be in the end.

And I love you, yes I love you,
Oh how I love you, oh how I love you.

Nights in white satin, never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written, never meaning to send.
Beauty I’ve always missed, with these eyes before.
Just what the truth is, I can’t say anymore.

‘Cos I love you, yes I love you,
Oh how I love you, oh how I love you.
‘Cos I love you, yes I love you,
Oh how I love you, oh how I love you.

Breath deep
The gathering gloom
Watch lights fade
From every room
Bedsitter people
Look back and lament
Another day’s useless
Energy spent

Impassioned lovers
Wrestle as one
Lonely man cries for love
And has none
New mother picks up
And suckles her son
Senior citizens
Wish they were young

Cold hearted orb
That rules the night
Removes the colours
From our sight
Red is gray and
Yellow white
But we decide
Which is right
And
Which is an Illusion

Lyrics by Justin Hayward

Spoken Word written by Graeme Edge
Orchestral Arrangement by Peter Knight and the London Festival Orchestra
From the album Days of Future Passed
 
    When I hear this song, I am instantly moved. It isn’t overly complex in its arrangement, or even its meaning. It is simply the story of unrequited love, which, up until a certain point in my life, was a key theme in my life. When I think back on that time, a melancholy hangs over it, and this song is the perfect accompanyment for that melancholy.
    Even now, when I listen to it, my heart feels moved; the emotional singing and instrumentation, in turns, crushes me and makes me fly. All in all, the appropriate feeling for a song about unrequited love.
    The poem at the end is particularly moving, even if the orchestration seems inappropriate. The last stanza is what I want to focus on with a somewhat unconventional look-see:
    Nature (The moon), limits the way we may enjoy life (Removes the colors). Even our passions may be muted by nature (The passionate reds and yellows invoked). However, the decision of if we allow nature to have its way is our own choice (which is right, which is illusion).
    With this broad-minded interpretation, unrequited love is exposed for the delusion it might be. If love, true love, does not exist between two people, neither can will it into existence. Further, if one does not feel attraction to the other, then the whole situation is complicated.
    The stanza, with this interpretation, suggests that someone whose love is rejected can look at it as rejected, or just unrealized. Sort of like this:
“Just because she doesn’t like you doesn’t mean she won’t eventually like you, if you try hard enough.”
    In this light, it sounds delusional, perhaps even selfish. In our modern, Western mindset, unrequited love like this is often thought of as noble. We cheer for the poor guy that has no chance, hoping that the underdog can become the overdog. However, wouldn’t it just make sense for him to let the obsession go and find another one of the billions of people in the world? 
    I suppose it boils down to thinking you know what you want, and holding on until you get it. We tend to admire people that get what they want, so is it so strange that, often, we want who we want and obsess about them until we “have” them? 
    There’s a lot to this idea. I really should develop it more throughly and consider it more deeply before I go on much further.
What do you think about unrequited love?
~H
About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

