Personal Post: Consider the Pumpkins of the Field

Spring is in the air, and that means a boy’s fancy turns to thoughts of cobwebs, broomsticks (and the witches the ride them), and the macabre. Yes, it is once again time to consider what to dress as for Halloween. While my costumes tend towards the obscure (Latest 2: Judas from Godspell and Government Alchemist from Full Metal Alchemist), I was going to do something recognizable this year. I started to consider dressing as Leatherface, a horror icon that would be easily recognized and face it: me dressed as Leratherface would probably be freaky.

Then, it was announced that the annual party I will be attending would be themed as to cater to obscure costumes. While there is no need to stick to the theme, one hates to ignore a good theme. So, I floured a board and started kneading the old loaf. What constitutes obscure? Are we talking obscure within our group of friends? Obscure to the Joe in the street? Obscure to my mom?

I approached my consideration of what I would dress as in such a manner: I intend to dress as something I like that the average American might have no idea what I was dressed as. On the same token, I would like at least three people to recognize what I’m dressed as while at the party. So, my choices are:

Captain Spaulding, the murderous clown from Rob Zombie’s two best pieces of cinema to date, House of 1,000 Corpses and The Devil’s Rejects. I am undecided as to what version of the character I would dress as, but I feel that my current facial hair would help bring my portrayal of the character to life. I want to dress as him because he is a frightening and creepy character with a streak of black humor that cannot be denied. My cons for dressing as him is that I’d be dressed as a clown, and Sarah would probably want to slug me.

Fritz the Cat, the star of several comics by Robert Crumb. The appeal lies in the subversive nature of the character: Fritz is SO unlike me that I can’t help but think in an alternate, feline universe, I made all the wrong choices and wound up stabbed to death by an ostritch too. I want to dress as him because pretty much nobody would get it, and I’d be able to dress up like a cat man, which is a strange inversion of the Halloween tradition of women dressing up like cat-people. I don’t want to dress as Fritz because he IS such a departure from who I am…

Lusiphur, one of the main characters from the comic series Poison Elves by the late Drew Hayes. It would give me the opportunity to dress as a punky elf with crazy, pierced Deedlit ears. The only con I really see is that he has no facial hair what-so-ever, and I’d be compelled to shave all my face-fuzz for accuracy’s sake.

The Maxx, from Sam Kieth’s The Maxx. Who wouldn’t want to be a purple homeless guy that has claws and can’t control what world he’s in? I don’t know if I’d want to go for Outback Maxx, Regular Maxx, or Maxx in a trench coat. After about two years of thinking of dressing as The Maxx, I finally figured out some of how to make the mask…

Or, I could just stick with going as Leatherface. 

What do you think? Any other suggestions?

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Personal Post: Consider the Pumpkins of the Field

  1. Justine says:

    Clowns are wonderfully creepy and with that in mind, it IS Halloween (aka the creepy factor is justified), you’ll get to use your facial hair as is, and you are more likely to have a few people recognize while still being obscure. You have reminded me that I most get working on my own costume as it appears it will be labor intensive…

  2. Robyn says:

    I am violently opposed to anything even remotely clown-like!!!

  3. Sarah says:

    Ok, so I voted.

  4. ~m says:

    “what does obscure mean?”
    that IS the question, isn’t it?

    *wonders*

    • Sarah says:

      That’s what I’ve been having an issue with, too. I’d like to be something at least one person would get, but not to be so obvious.

  5. Pingback: Consider the Pumpkins of the Field* « Sheepless in Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

