Personal Post: Rededication and New Inspiration

Well, things at my new day (night) job have begun to settle into some semblence of a routine. It is tiring work: I constantly prowl about the warehouse like a caged tiger as every other employee takes a metaphorical stick to my cage bars: “I have a problem here!” “Can you do something about this?” “Doesn’t the new system suck?” All of these interactions have served to remind me why I tend to dislike dealing with people.

As of late, my writing has been rather absent from my life. I haven’t lost my desire, but lately my zeal has been less than par. I’ve been struggling with a lot of concepts, from the serpent that is my feelings of inadequacy to the boulder that is my personal fear of what the future is. As I sort through these issues, I’m finding that there is a lot more to my stories than I’m allowing there to be. That needs to change.

A lot needs to change. I need to get my work “out there”, and have been taking steps towards that goal. I’ve been looking at some fun freeware programs to lay out my own, small publication, and that’s aces. I just need to get around to putting the whole she-bang together.

That said, I am considering what content I should present on this blog and what content I shouldn’t be giving away for free. Tough decisions, considering I don’t think anyone would pay dime one to read one of my stories. I know, I know, I’m not that bad, my work has merit and all that, but that can’t stop the serpent’s venom in my veins: wrestle with snakes and you get bit. See? Wasn’t that a fun way to bring that metaphor from earlier back around?

Emotional trials and monumental decisions aside, I have found myself reading some P.G. Wodehouse and am enamoured with his work with the word. I will have more to say once I finish Stiff Upper-Lip, Jeeves.

Also! I have a vocabulary assignment I need to complete. I wrote down all the words that I didn’t quite fully understand while reading Frankenstein, and will be using them in an upcoming short story. This will help me remember these new words, and it will (hopefully) introduce you to some new vocabulary as well. If anything, it is a fun idea.

Well, as it is 5 in the AM, I ought to walk bedways and watch the second half of House of Wax featuring Vincent Price. I bet you are surprised that I haven’t watched it before now.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Post: Rededication and New Inspiration

  1. Robyn says:

    I do not think you give yourself enough credit. I, for one, would certainly purchase your published work! Okay, so I am biased and your bestest pal, and of course I would buy your work. However, my dearest friend, your work is amazing, and surely people would buy it.

    Then again, I did think I could sell things I make, and it really isn’t happening yet. But alas, today was my first venture into advertising – Perhaps that will turn things around for me.

    So, with that in mind, you don’t know until you put yourself out there. The key, I think, is getting out there beyond your circle of friends. Yes, word of mouth is powerful. Yes, our frinds cheer us on and spread the word. But you have to break from the circle and really put yourself out there. Easier said than done, as I am currently learning. but we must try. You must.

    “Day jobs” are double-edges swords. They allow us the financial freedom to both persue our creative outlets and also to not depend on them to feed and shelter us. On the other hand, they time time, energy, will, and brainpower away from our crafts of love. I know you are going through a transition and “eh” period at work. it shall either pass, or you’ll get used to it. (*comforting, I know*) You will dive into you craft again, when the time is write. (*I couldn’t resist, hardy-har-har*) Sometimes we want to work on what we love, but lack the energy or time. Sometimes we have the time but not the drive. It is a natural up and down of crafting our crafts, working on what we love.

    It is very good that you can take a step back and look at what you are working on, what you could be working on, what you want to work on. These are positive forces for your craft.

    You will get there, my friend. I have no doubt about that. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

