Personal Post: Harry Vs. The Stumpy Weekend

I must work my day (night) job on Saturday. They are so far behind that the nearest Oni on the Girl isn’t in sight. So, with that sadness in mind, my funk continues.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been feeling rather blue; stuck in a general malaise that I just can’t find a way out of. The origins of this funk lie in my feeling rather inert as of late. I have stories and projects sitting around, but it seems like life has just decided that I won’t have the time to devote to these projects. The weekdays fly by and the weekends are almost invisible, doubly so this weekend.

I need to get back into a routine, but I’m having a hard time motivating myself. Sometimes, it just feels like I’ve lost interest in just about everything. Yeah, it sounds like my yearly end of winter/beginning of spring depression is here.

I’ve been feeling somewhat misanthropic, which hasn’t helped with the situation. I say somewhat misanthropic because it is not a dislike or hate that I’m feeling, just an indifference.

The other night, I was working on the next installment of the Inspector Prescott story arc (Hole in the Head) and I felt as though it was some of my best work so far. I felt that way because as I was writing, I was really drawn into what was going on. As such, going back to it is the thing I’m most excited about right now.

Random bits and pieces:

Sunday, I will be accompanying Sarah to her Grandmother’s 90th birthday party.

I trimmed my beard down to “Friendly Mutton Chops“, also known as a “Lemmy“. I’m enjoying the quirky appearence of this facial hair and will need to post pictures.

I failed to complete my Spring photo project due to a combination of disinterest and other, more interesting projects on the horizon.

My day (night) job is changing. I will soon cease being a Shipping Clerk and become an Inventory Control Clerk. I wonder if a cocoon will be involved?

~H

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Weird Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Personal Post: Harry Vs. The Stumpy Weekend

  1. Sarah says:

    One of my recent P365 photos is of you with new facial hair. I also have a bunch of photos on Facebook for those that are on there.
    http://sarahmackenzie.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/day-80/

    Spring just started, how is it that you failed to do something? You still have three months.

    I really like the Inspector series. I think it’s some of your best work so far.

  2. Robyn says:

    Poor Harry. I am very much in favor of y’all spending your winters down here. I think it would be best for both of you. Too bad your employer would be less than keen about it. Boo! Flummery!

    • harrylthompsonjr says:

      It isn’t so much the winter that’s getting me down. It is the transition into the spring. To an extent, it is sort of like when you have a birthday and reflect on what you did or did not accomplish so far in life.

Leave a Reply

