Personal Post: Hyde and Seek

I had a bit of a fright at work earlier in the week. For two days I was of the understanding that my day (night) job was going to go kaput. However, with great joy, I announce that it was a miscommunication. I will remain gainfully employed, and thus will still be able to thrive as a human being.

With that out of the way, I managed to add to the growing story arc that is The Gypsy. I made the mistake of going in with very little planning, so I found myself adding characters and exploring them, hoping that they’d connect themselves and save me the trouble. Happily, they did just that.

I’m really enjoying the new characters that have come about. I enjoy Sigrid in particular. In my mind, she manages to be both intellectual and a risk taker. More or less, she made this fabulous plan and is watching it slowly turn to shit. Her risks haven’t paid off at all, and now she finds herself in the thick of it.

Where is Minerva in all this, you ask? She’ll be in the next installment. Kane will be popping by as well.

Hole in the Head seemed to get a good reception. I like the world, but i’m still working on its construction. The rules and such.

I’m considering makingf a little guide to the different worlds here at A Matter of Fiction. Doing so will help visitors get aquainted, and will also help me get some things pinned down.

I’m currently reading The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I’m sure I read some of it before, but after reading Vol. 2 of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, I was inspired to check out the original Mr. Hyde story and see if the polka song appears in it or not.

When I read Vol 2 of LoEG, and Hyde started singing that song, I felt an over-whelming sense of (what I could best describe as) mudita. Here was Hyde, becoming a hero, but also embracing the utter evil and perversion that is who he is. More or less, his embracing his identity and doing good while doing so, gave me a strange sense of joy.

The second reason I have picked up Jekyll and Hyde was because I had recently watched the version of the story reflected in the link above. I found it compelling and well done; adequately acted, superbly lit. As such, I wanted to immerse myself a bit more in the world the film was creating. 

The final reason that I picked up Jekyll and Hyde was that I wanted to see how such an evil character is portrayed. The sort of chap that would trample a girl is the kind of creature that could easily haunt many of my stories, so I feel that it would be suitable to take a look at how it has been handled in the past.

Well, I should be off to bed yet again.

~H

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Post: Hyde and Seek

  1. Sarah says:

    I guide of some sort could be a good thing. How time consuming would it be?

Leave a Reply

