By Request, Summer Haikus

My wife Sarah asked if I could write a pair of Haikus comparing and contrasting our contrary views of the season of summer. Sarah adores the season, and I can barely tolerate it, though this summer has thus far been particularly nice in my book.

Here is what I have come up with:

Iced Tea

Clink, clink, falls the ice

Perspiration coats the glass

Joy follows a sip.

 

Grass Toes

My feet push downwards,

and blades of grass slide in,

Slide between my toes.

 

Baking

The radient rays

Warmly caress my light skin;

Turn me golden brown!

 

Hand Surf

Up and down I ride,

surfing the raging currents,

gliding on the wind.

 

Swamp Ass

I sat in a chair,

I’m afraid I sat too long;

My ass is swampy.

 

Pregnant Belly on a Man

My belly is round;

and sweat beads off my forehead.

I think I’m dying…

 

Electric Hum

Air Conditioners

Filling the darkness of night

With electric hums.

 

White Guys Without Shirts

White, slim, and tattooed:

Might they be Neo-Nazis?

They are my neighbors.

 

Stifle

The air will not move!

The fans will do too little.

It is hard to breathe.

 

Head Sweat

My head is itchy.

My hair glistens with wetness.

I have the head sweats.

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to By Request, Summer Haikus

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay Summer! Nicely done Hunni! LOL White Guys… is so very true. I hate it when my head sweats.

    Olive,
    Saface

  2. Robyn says:

    Oh sweet heaven, these are GOOD.

Leave a Reply

