A Script, Tentatively Titled “Not Settling”

FADE IN

INT SET DAY

Anne sits patiently. We see little of the set. Frank is seated across from her, ready to conduct his interview.

FRANK

Sorry to have kept you waiting so

long. I know that you’re between

takes and…

ANNE

(interrupting)

Don’t worry about it. There’s time.

There’s always time. Half of making

movies is waiting. I’ve got that

part down pat. Seems like I’ve been

waiting all my life for this.

FRANK

(takes out a pad

and smiles)

So, this is your big break, huh?

 

ANNE

(sits, looking

serious and

sarcastic)

Yes. I’ve worked really hard to get

here.

ANNE (V.O.)

What I’m saying is a lie. This

isn’t my big break, but I know

that’s what I’m supposed to say.

However, I did work very hard to

get here.

INT FAMILY ROOM NIGHT

In the past, an 8 year old Anne is sitting and watching television contentedly with her parents. Washed in blue light, she is entranced by the flickering images.

ANNE (V.O.)

I’d watch the actresses on TV as

they received their awards,

confident that I’d have my own

some day.

INT BEDROOM NIGHT

Still in the past, a 13 year old Anne is looking at herself in a mirror, wondering if she’ll ever have a womanly body.

ANNE (V.O.)

As I grew older, I started to

wonder if I would actually be able

to become what I wanted to be. Not

every girl grew up to look like

Marilyn Monroe.

INT COLLEGE STAGE NIGHT

In the recent past, Anne sits on the edge of the stage, not content. Bertie is talking with her, consolingly.

ANNE

(sadly)

I don’t know if I can keep this up,

Bertie.

 

ANNE (V.O.)

I started my career like most other

actresses, doing musical plays:Little

Shop, Godspell, and Once Upon a Mattress,

However, it was the role of Audrey

that came back to haunt me.

BERTIE

I saw you a few months ago in Little Shop

and I thought that you.

were brilliant. You brought such a

tender vulnerability to the part.

ANNE (V.O.)

Ugh. I heard it a thousand times

from friends, family, and

strangers. It made me think I

could really make it.

INT CASTING OFFICE DAY

Three people sit in judgment of Anne’s acting ability. Brent, Bianca, and Bob. Brent is a typical Hollywood “suit”, while Bianca is a “butchy lesbian with small boobs.” Bob looks utterly fascinated with Anne, though he is not as well dressed as Brent. Anne is dressed for the audition and stands before them feigning confidence.

ANNE (V.O.)

And then, it was always the same

thing.

BRENT

(smiling)

Thank you for your time.

BIANCA

(smiling)

We’ll get back to you soon.

BOB

(grinning,

he nods his

head)

 

ANNE (V.O)

But I know they were actually

thinking…

BRENT

(disappointed)

Her tits are too small.

BIANCA

(disgusted)

Her tits are too big.

BOB

(grinning,

he nods his

head, “singing“)

UMP-ST UMP-ST Doo-Doo-Dee-Doo.

UMP-ST UMP-ST

INT SET DAY

Back at the interview…

FRANK

Why do you think they chose you for

the part?

ANNE

(smiling)

I guess it is because I’m just

right.

ANNE (V.O.)

It also helped that the director

was a friend from college.

BERTIE

(interrupting)

I’m sorry, but we need you now.

ANNE

(feigning

happiness)

Busy, busy.

Frank watches as Anne walks onto the set a few feet away. The “set” is revealed to be little more than a basement with a green screen set up. A stocky guy hoists a thinner guy onto his shoulders as Anne approaches.

BERTIE

Okay, this is the monster. He’s got

two heads, and is covered in warts,

really nasty. And he’s got a big

ol’ wang. Don’t worry: it’ll stay

artsy. Okay? All right!

(shouting)

Effects, get the Bloodgasm ready. I

want her covered! Got it? Okay. 3,

2, 1! Action!

                                  (We hear monster “noises”.)

ANNE (V.O.)

Sometimes, it’s strange; the things

we’ll do to make our mark or follow

our craft.

ANNE

(screams

piercingly)

 

BERTIE

(loudly)

Bloodgasm! Now!

(The crew douses her with blood, producing a huge splash while the monster bellows excitedly.)

FADE OUT

 

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

