You and Your Ghost

 The following poem is basically the outline of the next short story I plan on working on. It should be a fabulous time with a ghost, unwilling  lover, and the psychic that he loves. Essentially, the ghost has attached herself to the male lead. The male then enters a series of relationships that end with death and despair. His misery is lifted when he finds a woman that turns out to be able to see ghosts and exocise them. However, the quandary becomes weather or not he’d be happy without his little ghost around. 

“You and Your Ghost” by Harry L. Thompson, Jr.

I can see her behind you.

Watching your every step,

Waiting for me to turn my back;

Waiting for the moment she can end me.

Susie died in a car crash,

Rena fell in a hay bailer.

Carla’s heart failed,

And now there’s me.

I see your ghost behind you, scheming.

She wants you to herself,

But she can’t have you.

You are mine, always.

Tina was committed,

Audry was burned alive.

Kim was thrown from a plane,

But now she must reckon with me.

I’m a witch.

I’m a vessel of the gods.

I’m able to draw the sacred signs;

Soon, there will be no more her and plenty of me.

She will feel a pinch (The first since death).

Her soul will crackle (Pain unknown, even in life).

She’s going to regret this (The sigil is stronger than her will),

And I will sever her from this earth ( She is weak and dead; defeated).

When she’s gone,

Will you feel all alone?

Without her haunting, can you thrive?

If it’s her or me, which one would you choose?

~H

About harrylthompsonjr

I'm a writer, a photographer, and a lover of role playing games. I've moved my blog to wordpress in hopes of actually getting some feedback. We'll see :)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You and Your Ghost

  1. Sarah says:

    Hmmm…intreging (sp?)

Leave a Reply

